Watan Card

In response to the flood crisis, the Government of Pakistan in collaboration with the Provincial Governments set up the Citizens’ Damage Compensation Program to support affected households with cash in their recovery efforts in all four provinces Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Sindh, Punjab and Balochistan, as well as Gilgit-Baltistan and Azad Jammu and Kashmir.

watanThe Council of Common Interest (a constitutional body headed by the Prime Minister, and including the Chief Ministers of all Provinces) made an immediate one-off payment of PKR 20,000 to the affected families. The Programme was mutually financed by the Federal and Provincial governments under the name of “Watan Card” to support the flood affected families, and provide some relief to the affected people. In Azad Kashmir 11652 Watan cards were issued disbursing Rs. 233 million while NADRA sites were set up in Hattian, Haveli, Mirpur, Neelum and Rawalakot. Overall 13299 flood victims has been disbursed Rs. 548 million via Watan Cards in Phase II. The State Disaster Management Authority aided the issuance and distribution of Watan Cards to help the food victims to cover basic consumption and to recapitalize assets, repay loans, recover their livelihoods and repair housing.